Friday, May 13, 2011

Sweet Music

This week Strut released the third volume to their pioneering Nigeria 70 series with a funky batch of seventies Afro funk, Highlife, and Juju gems in this new compilation titled Sweet Music. This compilation, which was compiled by series curator Duncan Brooker, continues in the same great spirit as the past two releases in the series by digging deep into Nigeria's forgotten label archives and highlighting some of the regions lost treasures. Each song is very different from the next, as group's across the region at this time began to experiment with fusing many different sounds which crossed over into many sub-genres. Some of the records best cuts include Tunde Mabadu's "Viva Disco", Admiral Dele Abiodun & His Top Hitters International's "It's Time For Juju Music", Eji Oyewole's "Unity In Africa", Chief Commander Ebenezer Obey & His International Brothers' "Ajoyio", and my personal favorite Moneyman And The Super 5 International's "Life". Overall, Sweet Music is a solid new compilation and great new addition to the always superbly crafted Nigeria 70 series. Enjoy!

Moneyman And The Super 5 International - Life

Purchase Nigeria 70: Sweet Music by Clicking Here.

Share on Facebook

1 comment:

soulie said...

C'MON Pat,how about a month of obscure disco,Funk & Jazz Funk,or anything but this.